The practice of delivering University Sermons dates back to the earliest days of the University. Each year eminent men and women from many different traditions are invited by the Vice-Chancellor to deliver sermons ‘before the University’. The University’s motto from Psalm 27, Dominus illuminatio mea (The Lord is my light), captures something of its purpose: an occasion of focus and exploration for the illumination of the mind in the context of prayer. Today, these sermons occur at the University Church and in College Chapels across the University. They provide an opportunity to hear renowned thinkers from a range of disciplines and perspectives, drawing together the life of learning, spiritual discovery and the quest for truth.

Trinity Term 2021
Thursday 22 April Latin Communion at the University Church at 8.00am

Celebrant: The Revd Professor Teresa Morgan, Nancy Bissell Turpin Fellow and Tutor in Ancient History, Oriel College

Sunday 25 April St Mark's Day Sermon at Magdalen College at 11.00am

Preacher: Dr Paula Gooder, Canon Chancellor, St Paul's Cathedral

Sunday 9 May Commemoration Day Sermon at the University Church at 10.30am

Preacher: Professor Andrew Dilnot, Warden, Nuffield College

Sunday 23 May University Sermon (Whit Sunday) at the Cathedral at 9.45am

Preacher: Bishop Joe Aldred, Churches Together in England

Sunday 30 May University Sermon (Trinity Sunday) at the Queen's College at 6.15pm

Preacher: The Rt Revd Professor N. T. Wright, Senior Research Fellow, Wycliffe Hall

Sunday 6 June Sermon on the Grace of Humility at Lincoln College at 5.45pm

Preacher: Dr Katherine Dell, Reader in Old Testament Literature and Theology, University of Cambridge

Sunday 13 June University Sermon at the University Church at 10.30am

Preacher: The Revd Dr Ayla Lepine, Chaplain, King's College, Cambridge

Sunday 20 June St John Baptist's Day Sermon at Magdalen College at 10.00am

Preacher: The Revd Dr Peter Anthony, All Saints, Margaret Street

Hilary Term 2021
Thursday 14 January 8.00am Latin Communion at St Mary's 

This service is now cancelled.

Sunday 17 January 3.30pm Latin Litany and University Sermon at St Mary's

This service is now cancelled.

Sunday 7 February 5.30pm University Sermon Intercollegiate Service at St Mary's

Preacher: The Revd Canon Dr Samuel Wells, Vicar of St Martin-in-the-Fields

Sunday 14 February 5.45pm University Sermon on the Grace of Humility at Lincoln College

This service is now cancelled.

Sunday 28 February 10.30am University Sermon at St Mary's

Preacher: The Rt Revd Dr Joanne Woolway Grenfell, Bishop of Stepney

Sunday 7 March 6.00pm University Sermon for the Annunciation to the Blessed Virgin Mary at Oriel College

This service is now cancelled.

The Macbride Sermon at Hertford College on Sunday 24 January has been cancelled.

Michaelmas Term 2020
Thursday 8 October Latin Communion at the University Church 

Celebrant: The Rt Revd Humphrey Southern, Principal, Ripon College Cuddesdon

Sunday 18 October University Sermon at the University Church 

Preacher: Dr Bethany Sollereder, Research Fellow, Laudato Si’ Research Institute, Campion Hall

Sunday 1 November Ramsden Sermon at New College 

Preacher: The Most Revd Paul Kwong, Archbishop of Hong Kong Sheng King Hui and Bishop of Hong Kong Island

Sunday 15 November University Sermon at the University Church

Preacher: The Revd Canon Dr Rachel Mann, Rector, St Nicholas, Burnage

Sunday 22 November University Sermon on the Sin of Pride at Exeter College

Preacher: Sir Jonathan Phillips KCB, Warden of Keble

Please note that the Court Sermon at the Cathedral, scheduled for Tuesday 13 October, and the Advent Sunday Sermon at the Cathedral, scheduled for Sunday 29 November, have been cancelled.