Free lunchtime concert

University Church of St Mary the Virgin, High Street, Oxford.

We are delighted to welcome the Cardiff County & Vale of Glamorgan Symphonic Brass who come and perform at our lunchtime concert today.

CCVG Brass is a ten-piece ensemble made up of 12-18 year old musicians.  Their repertoire ranges from Renaissance polyphony to contemporary scores, and they always give an outstanding performance, suitable for (and appreciated by) all ages. 

They will be presenting a recital that juxtaposes cutting edge contemporary works with the music of JS Bach. The programme includes original pieces for brass by Glass, Lauridsen and Rautavaara as well as a new commission by Tōru Takemitsu Composition Competition finalist David John Roche.


Programme to include:

Italian 14th century arr. Michael Triggs – La Rotta

JS Bach arr. Patrick Morris - Andante (from Organ Sonata No. 4, BWV 528)

Einojuhani Rautavaara – Dies Irae (from A Requiem in our Time)

Philip Glass – Hymn (from Brass Sextet)

JS Bach arr. Christopher Mowat – Allegro (from Brandenburg Concerto No. 3)

Morten Lauridsen – O Magnum Mysterium

David John Roche – Happy Pieces (Symphonic Brass Cardiff commission)